Five scholars recognized in Order of Australia appointments in 2022


January 26, 2022

Five Academy members are among the Australians recognized in the 2022 appointments to the Order of Australia, including four who have been made Companions of the General Division of the Order of Australia (AC).

Companion is currently the Order of Australia’s highest appointment and recognizes “eminent achievement and merit of the highest degree in the service of Australia or humanity as a whole”. Only seven people have been appointed to a board in 2022.

Dr. Alan Finkel has been appointed to a Board and has also been added to the COVID-19 Honor Roll. Distinguished Professor Jenny Graves, Professor Ary Hoffmann and Dr Graeme Moad have each been appointed to an AC.

Professor John Church has been appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO), for “distinguished service of a high degree to Australia or to mankind at large”.

To date, 300 members of the Academy have been appointed to the Order of Australia.


Australia’s former Chief Scientist Dr Alan Finkel was the founder of the Rapid Research Information Forum (RRIF), which brought together the country’s science, research and innovation sectors at the start of the COVID pandemic -19 to provide the latest scientific evidence to the Australian Government.

The operations of the RRIF were managed by the Australian Academy of Sciences, and its impact on the nation was publicly acknowledged by Prime Minister Scott Morrison.

Following his industrial career producing groundbreaking scientific instruments for academic neuroscience and pharmaceutical drug discovery, Dr. Finkel has distinguished himself in the Australian scientific and engineering community through his passion for teaching science and learning. engineering, creative leadership and philanthropy.

He was elected a Fellow of the Academy in 2016 and is currently the Australian Government’s Special Advisor on Low Emission Technologies.

Distinguished Professor Jenny Graves AC FAA

Professor Jenny Graves has transformed our understanding of how humans and all vertebrate animals have evolved and function. She pioneered genomics and epigenetic research in Australia and predicted the disappearance of the Y chromosome.

She also pioneered the fields of comparative genomics and epigenetics globally, was the driving force behind the sequencing of the first marsupial and monotreme genomes, and won international awards.

Professor Graves was elected to the Academy in 1999, received the Macfarlane Burnet Medal and Lecture in 2006 and the Prime Minister’s Prize for Science in 2017.

Professor Ary Hoffmann AC FAA

Professor Ary Hoffman. Photo: University of Melbourne.

Professor Ary Hoffmann is considered a leader in evolutionary biology and the applications of evolutionary principles to applied problems.

He has studied how natural populations evolve in response to environmental stresses, and his work has led to major advances in understanding how stressful periods influence evolutionary rates and how insects adapt to overcome stressful conditions.

He was elected to the Academy in 2004, serves on the National Committee for Ecology, Evolution and Conservation, and was lead author of an Academy working paper on “forcing genetics”.

Dr Graeme Moad AC FAA FTSE

Dr. Graeme Moad is recognized as a world leader in the field of polymer chemistry. His achievements range from fundamental chemistry, in the fields of polymer design and synthesis, polymerization kinetics and mechanism, to new materials for industrial use, nanotechnology, organic electronics and bioapplications.

His research on the development of new synthetic methods for the controlled synthesis of polymers with defined architecture and composition revolutionized the field.

Dr. Moad was elected to the Academy in 2012 and received the Academy’s 2020 David Craig Medal and Lecture.

Professor John Church AO FAA FTSE

Professor John Church is one of Australia’s leading oceanographers whose theoretical and observational work on ocean dynamics has led to a deep understanding of the physics of recent sea level change.

His work has contributed to assessments of climate change science by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and to the work of the World Climate Research Program, as well as to public debate on evidence and science under underlying climate change.

He was awarded the 2021 Jaeger Medal by the Academy and sits on the National Committee for Antarctic Research.


Companion of the Order of Australia (AC)

  • Dr Alan Finkel AC FAA FTSE FAHMSfor distinguished service to science, national energy innovation capacity and research infrastructure, climate change and COVID-19 initiatives, and science and engineering education .
  • Distinguished Professor Jenny Graves AC FAAfor distinguished service to science, particularly through leadership and research in evolutionary genetics, to international and national professional societies, to science education in schools, and as a mentor and role model to women.
  • Professor Ary Hoffmann AC FAAfor his distinguished services to science, in particular evolutionary biology and ecological genetics, through research, mentorship and education, and to professional scientific organizations.
  • Dr Graeme Moad AC FAA FTSEfor his distinguished services to science, in particular the design and synthesis of polymers and free radical polymerization, education through mentorship, and professional scientific organizations.

Officer of the Order of Australia (AO)

  • Professor John Church AO FAA FTSEfor his distinguished services to climate science through oceanographic and sea level research and publications.

More information about the Order of Australia


Comments are closed.